Pumpkin-Potato Curry with Kale

I found this recipe a couple of weeks ago on Indian Food Rocks (I got there via Vegan Yum Yum), when I had some potatoes and a pumpkin that needed to be cooked. I also had all the spices to make panch phoran, an Indian spice mixture of whole seeds, and I’m always looking for a new way to put Indian spices together.  (I should mention here that “1 tejpatta” is a bay leaf, and “jeera powder” is ground cumin.)

The curry was delicious. I was out of fresh chili, so we ate ours with chili pickle and that rounded out the flavor. I think next time I would make it with more spice (the recipe on Indian Food Rocks is a milder version of the traditional dish), but overall, it was very well-balanced.

2 Comments

Filed under curries, entrees, Indian Food

2 responses to “Pumpkin-Potato Curry with Kale

  1. Looking good! And yes, my version is low on heat. (The original had more green chillies, red chilli powder and garam masala.) Glad you liked it! We love it!

    What did you do with the kale?

  2. organicgoddess

    Thanks, Manisha, for the recipe. The kale was sauteed with onion and garlic, and I think I threw in some mustard seeds as well. Pretty basic stuff, but yummy.

Leave a Reply

